Trip back to Arizona

We are back in Arizona, and we have rented a house for this stay.  The RV was cozy, but for 3-4 months I do believe it would have been too cozy for our liking.  We used our extra bunks to pack our goodies for this trip, and we went house hunting upon our arrival but I am getting ahead of myself.

We left MI on Friday, January 8th and we drove into northern IL to stay the night boondocking.  Val and I fell asleep on the couch and James went into the bed when we stopped.  He made it about 2 hours before he woke up shivvering – realizing that our battery had died and couldn’t power the furnace to heat our RV.  Did I mention it was about 5* outside?  He woke me up to call local hotels to see if they were open at 2am and would take dogs.  I found one close by, and we went inside to thaw.  Val stayed up and played until almost 4:45 but at least we were warm.  And the hotel was nice enough to let us plug in, so that our stuff wouldn’t freeze.

The next night we stayed at a friend’s house in the St. Louis area.  They had mutual friends over, we ate good food, watched a playoff game, the boys played poker, and the girls stayed upstairs to chat.  It was nice, and it surely makes me miss that area when I visit.  We are blessed with great friends there.

The next few days are a blur of driving through Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona.  We realized once we got to the warmer states that we could sleep in the RV without plugging in and the battery would last.  So I am not quite sure what happened, but I am guessing we need a new house battery. 🙂

{Picture of Val and DaDa in New Mexico at a rest area where we had lunch and played in the sunshine.}

We are now in Arizona and renting a very nice 3 bedroom, 2 bath house, with a fenced in backyard for the dogs and even a small pool.  We are not in Bisbee, but close enough that I can go there on a regular basis.  The best thing about this place?  I can watch the sunrise over the mountains out the kitchen window and the sunsets out the playroom window everyday.  I must admit, they sure are beautiful! 😀

Leave a Reply

