Meeting a Dingo in Bronson, TX

I have been a member of MDC for quite awhile (way before I had Val), and I happened to get involved with a group of running moms which we have now coined the Dingos.  Fast forward FIVE years, and I finally have a Dingo meet up!  At her homestead!  Which was on the way back to MI from Gonzales, TX!  I love how things come together. 🙂

She lives on her land that was her parent’s, and her dad built the cabin 40 years ago that they live in now.  They dream big things like houses like Stoneview and converting buses that run on veggie oil.  She runs barefoot, cooks from Nourishing Traditions, and homeschools her boys.  It was just the type of family we dream of communing with about our goals in life and being inspired by seeing these things in action already.  It was something we *needed* on our trip home as there is so much up in the air about our futures right now and what we *want* to do.

I had just ordered my Vibrams for barefoot running, I was thinking of ordering NT’s on the Kindle but after talking to Dana I decided to buy the book and I’ve been cooking from it already, and I will be homeschooling Valentine and any future children – it’s just so great to see it working for another family.  We chatted about all of these things, we skimmed through their books which motivated James to read all about cord wood houses, and she made us amazing food.  I still drool at the thought of her homemade honey latte with raw milk.  Yum yum!

I cannot put into words how much this stop meant to me (and us as a family).  Our time there was far too short!  Maybe we will return to their homestead for a “barn raising” if they decide to build a guest house like one of the books James has read.  Until then… our memories of this visit will be our inspiration as we move forward with our dreams.

1 Comment »

  1. Jo Said:

    Ooh, I want to meet up with you both!

    Just reading this short bit has me feeling inspired.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

